Using the Chat Function

< Back

(Source: Zoom’s Support on Using in-meeting chat)

As the host of a meeting (or webinar) you can limit can message who using the chat function. It makes sense to have a think about this ahead of training and any other meetings.

Options:

1. Open the chat.

2. Click on ‘More’ (three little dots, you only have this option if you’re the host of the meeting).

3. Choose who you want participants to be able to chat with.

4. These are your options:

  • No one: Disables in-meeting chat.
  • Host only: Only the host can send messages to everyone. Participants can still send private messages to the host.
  • Everyone publicly: Participants can only send public messages. Public messages are visible to all participants. Participants can still send private messages to the host.
  • Everyone publicly and privately [this is the default option]: Participants can send public or private messages. Public messages are visible to all participants. Private messages are sent to a specific participant

Be aware that the default option is that everyone can message everyone (both privately and publicly) – the option ‘Everyone publicly’ might be a better choice in some settings. You can also change those settings during a meeting – as often as you like!

At the end of a meeting you can save the chat as a .txt file by clicking on ‘Save Chat’.